Phil Steele Selects League Leading 18 Jaguars To All-Conference Teams

June 5, 2014 · By · Filed Under Football, News, Sun Belt Conference 

Helmet_CameraPhil Steele, sportswriter and analyst who releases one of the most popular preseason magazines each season, recently released his preseason All-Sun Belt Conference team with South Alabama well represented.

In all 18 Jaguars made it into his list, which is tops for the conference. The next closest is co-defending conference champion Louisiana-Lafayette with 15, then co-defending champion Arkansas State, Louisiana-Monroe and Texas State with 13.

Shavarez Smith WR, Wes Saxton TE, Melvin Meggs OG and Aleem Sunanon K all received First-Team selections.

Drew Dearman OG, Chris May OT, Ucambre Williams OT, Maleki Harris LB and Montell Garner CB all received Second-Team selections.

Jay Jones RB, Danny Woodson WR, Jerome McClain DT, Qudarius Ford CB, Terrell Brigham S and TJ. Glover KR received Third-Team selections.

Marvin Shinn WR, Jimmie Gipson LB, and Jesse Kelley DT received Fourth-Team selections.

Last season the Jaguars only had eight selections to Steele’s Preseason team. This season, four of the five starting offensive linemen were selected to either the first or second team. Three players from the secondary were selected and three wide receivers were selected.

If his selections are any indications as to how the Jags may fare against Sun Belt opponents this season, the season looks bright for the Jaguars.

South Alabama opens the 2014 season at Kent State on September 6 and open their home schedule the following week when they host Mississippi State on September 13.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: