Roster Released For Red-Blue Spring Game

April 5, 2013 · By · Filed Under Football 
Coach Joey Jones

Head Coach Joey Jones speaks to his team after the conclusion of the Jaguars first practice of 2012 preseason camp.

As the Jags finished up their final practice prior to the Jaguars annual Red-Blue Spring Game, they released the roster for Saturday.

The team worked out for about an hour and a half at the practice facility on campus. In addition to working on things for the spring game, the coaches also took the time to instruct the players on drills to focus on between now and the beginning of fall camp.

Coach Jones spoke about how he thought his team did this spring prior to Saturday’s scrimmage. “I thought it was a great spring, our guys came to work,” Jones said. “I’m just proud of their leadership, focus and commitment to building this program at South Alabama. They are doing the right things.  We’re a much better team now then we were at the beginning of the spring. That’s not just trying to pump them up, they have really gotten better, we didn’t waste any days.”

Ross Metheny and Jay Jones highlight the offensive backfield for the Red team. But Metheny also has T.J. Glover, Savarez Smith and Corey Waldon as targets on the outside with Wes Saxton at tight end. Melvin Meggs, Drew Dearman, Matt Calcagnini, James Elliot and Darius McKeller will make up the offensive line.

The Red teams defense include Romelle Jones, Alex Page and Montavious Williams on the line with Desmond LaVelle and Maleki Harris backing them up at linebacker. Charles Harris, David Hawkins, Alonzo Long and Darrius Morrow in the secondary among others.

The Blue squad has Brandon Bridge and Trey Fetner as their two quarterbacks with Kendall Houston and Julien Valentin as running backs. Jereme Jones and Bryant Lavender highlight the receiver corps which includes Cameron Broadnax and Jake Howton. The offensive line includes Chris May and four redshirt freshmen from last season Daniel Aust, Steven Foster, Clay Machen and Joseph Scelfo.

Defensively, the blue squad is highlighted by linebackers Clifton Crews, Bryson James and Enrique Williams. Terrell Brighan, Qudarius Ford, Tyrell Pearson and Charles Watson will be in the secondary. The defensive line includes Jesse Kelley, Pat Moore and Will Thompson.

The Red-Blue game will kickoff at 2pm on Saturday at Ladd-Peebles Stadium. The parking lot will open at 10am for tailgating and also the College of Medicine’s Gumbo and Chili Showdown starting at 11am.

After the game there will be a 30 minute autograph and photo session with the players on the field.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: